Blue Jays’ First-Time Rule 5-Eligible Players in 2012

Update: Check out MjwW’s look at all things Rule 5 at

These are all of the players who will be eligible for the first time for the Rule 5 draft held in December at the Winter Meetings. Michael Crouse is a name that was quite promising a year ago but who dropped off in 2012. Ryan Goins performed well in the Eastern League in 2012 for a SS and has been sent to the Arizona Fall League with the Salt River Rafters. He is joined by fellow first-time eligible players Ryan Tepera and Sean Ochinko. AJ Jimenez will need to be protected this year as he recovers from Tommy John surgery that ended his 2012 season. SS Kevin Nolan is another interesting name that the Jays might consider protecting. All of the above except Nolan and Ochinko will make their case for protection in the Arizona Fall League.

Currently, there are 37 players on the Jays’ 40-man roster including Omar Vizquel and all of the pending free agents. The pitchers expected to vacate spots on the 40-man roster include Kelly Johnson, Brandon Lyon, Carlos Villanueva, and long-time reliever Jason Frasor. This would drop the Jays down to 32 with pitchers JA Happ, Sergio Santos, Kyle Drabek, Drew Hutchison and Dustin McGowan all needing protection from the Rule 5 draft. Barring an unexpected move, these 5 will will return to the 40-man. This bumps the Jays back up to 37.

The replacements for departing relievers/second basemen may come from the AFL where they will likely be competing for a spot on the 40-man. AJ Jimenez will likely be protected as he was a Top 20 prospect in the Jays system and should recover fully from his mid-season Tommy John surgery. John Stilson was a name that could have competed for the 40-man and possibly on the active roster in the Spring of 2013. He was recently removed from the AFL roster by the Jays and its unclear whether it was because he was injured, tired or something else. Perhaps the team have decided against pushing up his timeline and will give him another full season in the Minors to develop as a starter. Sean Ochinko and Ryan Tepera have failed to turn heads in the AFL so far and must be considered long-shots for the 40-man at this point. Ryan Goins could be protected because there is a distinct lack of depth to the Jays’ system in the middle infield where Goins has performed as high as New Hampshire (AA).

Name Pos DOB Acquired
Dustin Antolin RHP 8/9/1989 2008 (11)
Markus Brisker RF 8/21/1990 2008 (6)
Michael Crouse RF 11/22/1990 2008 (16)
Brad Glenn RF 4/2/1987 2009 (23)
Ryan Goins SS 2/13/1988 2009 (4)
Yan Gomes C 7/19/1987 2009 (10)
Anthony Gose CF 8/10/1990 2010 Trade
Shawn Griffith RHP 5/24/1987 2009 (37)
Chad Jenkins RHP 12/22/1987 2009 (1)
A.J. Jimenez C 5/1/1990 2008 (9)
Brandon Kaye RHP 8/16/1988 2011 NDFA
Aaron Loup LHP 12/19/1987 2009 (9)
Jack Murphy C 4/6/1988 2009 (31)
Kevin Nolan SS 12/13/1987 2009 (20)
Sean Ochinko DH 10/21/1987 2009 (11)
Gustavo Pierre SS 12/28/1991 2008 NDFA
Carlos Ramirez RF 4/24/1991 2008 NDFA
Ryan Schimpf 2B 3/11/1988 2009 (5)
Egan Smith LHP 3/16/1989 2009 (7)
Ryan Tepera RHP 11/3/1987 2009 (19)
Denny Valdez RHP 5/8/1990 2008 NDFA
Kenny Wilson CF 1/30/1990 2008 (2)
Tyler Ybarra LHP 12/11/1989 2008 (43)

Source: MjwW of

And now the current 40-man:

Pitchers B/T DOB
Henderson Alvarez R-R Apr 18, 1990
Chad Beck R-R Jan 17, 1985
David Carpenter R-R Jul 15, 1985
Joel Carreno R-R Mar 7, 1987
Brett Cecil R-L Jul 2, 1986
Evan Crawford R-L Sep 2, 1986
Steve Delabar R-R Jul 17, 1983
Kyle Drabek  60-day DL ** R-R Dec 8, 1987
Sam Dyson R-R May 7, 1988
Jason Frasor R-R Aug 9, 1977
J.A. Happ  60-day DL ** L-L Oct 19, 1982
Drew Hutchison  60-day DL ** L-R Aug 22, 1990
Casey Janssen R-R Sep 17, 1981
Chad Jenkins R-R Dec 22, 1987
Brad Lincoln L-R May 25, 1985
Aaron Loup L-L Dec 19, 1987
Brandon Lyon R-R Aug 10, 1979
Dustin McGowan  60-day DL ** R-R Mar 24, 1982
Brandon Morrow R-R Jul 26, 1984
Darren Oliver R-L Oct 6, 1970
Luis Perez  60-day DL ** L-L Jan 20, 1985
Ricky Romero R-L Nov 6, 1984
Sergio Santos  60-day DL ** R-R Jul 4, 1983
Carlos Villanueva R-R Nov 28, 1983
Catchers B/T DOB
J.P. Arencibia R-R Jan 5, 1986
Travis d’Arnaud R-R Feb 10, 1989
Jeff Mathis R-R Mar 31, 1983
Infielders B/T DOB
David Cooper L-L Feb 12, 1987
Yunel Escobar R-R Nov 2, 1982
Yan Gomes R-R Jul 19, 1987
Adeiny Hechavarria R-R Apr 15, 1989
Kelly Johnson L-R Feb 22, 1982
Brett Lawrie R-R Jan 18, 1990
Adam Lind L-L Jul 17, 1983
Mike McCoy R-R Apr 2, 1981
Mike McDade S-R May 8, 1989
Omar Vizquel S-R Apr 24, 1967
Outfielders B/T DOB
Jose Bautista R-R Oct 19, 1980
Rajai Davis R-R Oct 19, 1980
Anthony Gose L-L Aug 10, 1990
Colby Rasmus L-L Aug 11, 1986
Moises Sierra R-R Sep 24, 1988
Designated Hitter B/T DOB
Edwin Encarnacion R-R Jan 7, 1983

2 thoughts on “Blue Jays’ First-Time Rule 5-Eligible Players in 2012

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s